Finally, reread your summary and check it for good spelling, punctuation, and grammar. When writing your article summary, you want to wrap up exactly what it is that your article is about. mention the major aspects/factors/reasons that are discussed in the A summary is written in paragraph form and generally does not include subheadings. separate paragraph. An introduction is important to clearly identify the article, the topic, the question or purpose of the article, and its thesis or findings. ", these notes help me gain more knowledge, but reminded me of the information I had learned throughout the semester. Learn in 1 day! Tips for Writing a Summary. I am a teacher and appreciate this help. Sometimes, you may need to reorganize the logic of the article to make it more understandable for the r… We use cookies to make wikiHow great. You can say something like, "Although some colonists believed that taxes should entitle them to representation in Parliament, the author also argues that other colonists supported the Revolution because they believed they were entitled to representation in heaven on their own terms. Christine Bauer-Ramazani. _________________ (main idea; NP) (author's last name, year). Examples have, "This website always helps me with everyday problems and questions. For example: "The Book___________ by __________ tells the story of..." And then you introduce the characters and the main idea of the story or book. ", Don't use spell-checker for spelling errors. The Goal of Summarizing a News Article. Last updated: June 21, 2018. First off, do a quick estimate of how long your summary should be. So if you notice that love - discussions or descriptions of it, for example - come up a lot, one of the main points of the piece is probably love. Please consider supporting our work with a contribution to wikiHow. This article has been viewed 1,698,242 times. ", my IGSCE exams. Some people choose to write a summary first and use that as an outline for the actual